Art Search 2: Digging through the junk

As I feared, searching for affordable art is quite a slog.  There is plenty of art out there, but that is not necessarily a good thing.  Most online art marketplaces are uncurated meaning that anyone with a brush and a canvas can sell their works (Artfinder, Vango, Koonzt – I’m looking at you).  The result is that, especially at the low end of the market, there is a ton of junk.

Saatchi is a bit better, but at my low price point there is still a ton of [what I consider rather generic] stuff like this piece for $262 (20×16, by Ronald Halfant here):

AA5

After digging through page after page I did find a few that I liked, such as this for $270 (7×7, by Siri Tenden here):

AA6

But even that seems a bit unoriginal* and at only 7.5 inches square I don’t think I could pull the trigger.

Next time I’ll post some of the pieces I’ve found via my Twitter network.

* Sorry, I sound like a total art snob.  Anytime I criticize someone else’s art I feel terrible – heck, I probably couldn’t paint anything like the two pieces I posted here, and I’m sure plenty of people would be totally unimpressed by my own art.  I guess what I’m trying to say is that I’ve spent a lot of time over the last year looking online for art and I just feel that I see the same things over and over again, and often I don’t find it very inspiring.  But hey – that’s just me, and I’m no art critic!  As always, fell free to let me know your thoughts in the comments.

2 thoughts on “Art Search 2: Digging through the junk

  1. Your perspective is very important to people who are selling art. You might be right that if people get in on the action because it appears profitable, the quality might become questionable. It is sort of insulting to suggest that people who buy art online will by anything. I have seen crayon on paper priced for $250, so your complaint has a basis. It is important for buyers who have a refined aesthetic to say what they are/are not looking for specifically. If this happens, people who can’t meet that standard of quality will be discouraged from flooding the market with distractors.

    Like

    1. Good points. I don’t mean to suggest that people should not make and try to sell their art. Far from it. And I love the way that the internet allows me to find artists from all over the world with incredible ease. I know there is great art out there – tons of it – and much of it is affordable too. Personally I’m still refining my aesthetic and figuring out how to describe what I like. And I hope that by chronicling that process here I may help others like me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

